On the road…

I went to Oxford on Tuesday and the number of Bengali books in Blackwell’s bookshop was not very impressive – there were only three. Still it did give me a look at Hanne-Ruth Thompson’s hefty grammar book which is looked like it would definitely be a good reference book.IMG_1673[1]

Then to London on Wednesday where I came across a Bengali DVD at my mother-in-law’s house with two films on it which looks like it should be some practice though I get the impression there will be no sub-titles so I might not be able to follow.

I am feeling more confident about speaking so that is good. I do still feel a bit fed up about Teach Yourself Bengali because I think it encourages you to build on inadequate foundations and so demoralises you.

I also went on my usual hunt for Bengali script on culinary items in my mother-in-law’s kitchen and came across some সরষের তেল mustard oil. Bengalis do love their সরষের তেল ! It think it is like olive oil to an Italian. Last year Mashi put shosher tel in my old olive oil bottle. I was not happy!IMG_1672[1]

3 Comments

Leave a comment