I had a go….

All I can say is – I tried.  After my Bengali translation I’ve put the English again. Corrections are badly needed!

3066793360_6808f5bcdd

পূহ  দিকে দিকে দেখেছে – প্রথমে ডান দিকে এবং পরে বাঁ দিকে।

“উপহার?”পূহ বলে।”জন্মদিনের কেক?” পূহ বলে।

“কোথায়?”

“তুমি দেখতে পারছেনা?”

“না,”পূহ বলে।

“আমিও না,”  ঈঅর বলে,”ঠাট্টা করেছিলাম. হি হি.”

পূহ মাথা চুল্কিয়েছে, একটু ধাঁধা লাগিয়েছে।”কিন্তু সত্যিই এটা তোমার  জন্মদিন?”

“সেই,” ঈঅর বলে।

“ওহ! ভালো হয়ে থাক,ঈঅর.”

“আর ভালো হয়ে থাক, তুমিত্ত,ছোট ভালুক.”

“তবে এটা আমার জন্মদিন নয়!”

“হ্যাঁ তুমি সঠিক এটা আমার জন্মদিন.”

“কিন্তু তুমি বলেছো ‘ভালো হয়ে থাক -‘

“কেন হবেনা তো ? আমার জন্মদিনের সময়, তুমি কি নিত্য অসুখী আছো কেন?

“আছা, আমি বুঝি,’ পূহ বলে।

“এটা অনেক খারাপ,” ঈওর বলে, প্রায় ক্রঁদ করাছে, “যা আমি খুবই অখুশি,কারণ আমার উপহার নেই, আমার কেক নেই, মোমবাতি নেই, সবাই আমাকে অমনোযোগী হয়, কিন্তু যদি সবাই অখুশি হবে -“

সব অসহ্য পূহের  জন্য।

“ওখানে থাকো,”পূহ ঈওরকে ডাকাছিল একই সময়ে ঘোরেছে আর বাড়িতে তারাতারি চলে গেয়েছিল;কারণ ওর কিছু উপহার ইওরের জন্য পাওয়া উচিত আর পরে একটি টিক টিক উপহার এওরকে দেবে।

Pooh looked–first to the right and then to the left. “Presents?” said Pooh. “Birthday cake?” said Pooh. “Where?”

“Can’t you see them?”

“No,” said Pooh.

“Neither can I,” said Eeyore. “Joke,” he explained. “Ha ha!”

Pooh scratched his head, being a little puzzled by all this. “But is it really your birthday?” he asked.

“It is.”

“Oh! Well, many happy returns of the day, Eeyore.”

“And many happy returns to you, Pooh Bear.”

“But it isn’t my birthday.”

“No, it’s mine.”

“But you said ‘Many happy returns’–”

“Well, why not? You don’t always want to be miserable on my birthday, do you?”

“Oh, I see,” said Pooh.

“It’s bad enough,” said Eeyore. almost breaking down “being miserable myself, what with no presents and no cake and no candles, and no proper notice taken of me at all, but if everybody else is going to be miserable too—-”

This was too much for Pooh. “Stay there!” he called to Eeyore, as he turned and hurried back home as quick as he could; for he felt that he must get poor Eeyore a present of some sort at once, and he could always think of a proper one afterwards.

10 Comments

  1. Shouldn’t ঠাট্টা করাচ্ছিলাম be করছিলাম ? As in ‘I was joking’.
    Oh, and you’ll be interested in this: in the Feluda book NAYAN ROHOSYO, a creepy character laughs like this: হাঃ হাঃ হাঃ হাঃ. Don’t know if this has a villainous qualty or not. It mught be a bit
    Seems to me I remember children going হি হি হি but I can’t find it in a story at the moment.
    হবেনা তো is 2 words; জন্মদ্দিনএর * জন্মদিনের; বুজি* বুঝি
    I don’t know enough about word choices to know if অসহজ ot মন খারাপ is a better choice. Or indeed what would be the best choice. Many of my writing efforts just produce the question: what are you trying to say?

  2. Fun project! Had I only started with Bengali earlier I would gladly have worked on this as well.

    Just some questions:

    1) What does কান in “কেন হবেনাতো ? আমার  জন্মদ্দিনএর সময়, তুমি কি নিত্য অসুখী আছো কান?” mean? And is আছো really necessary or even possible here?

    2) Shouldn’t ইটা in “ইটা অনেক খারাপ” be এটা?

  3. re: কান. That’s what I thought too, just wanted to be sure. But then কি isn’t necessary here, or is it?

    Radice says that the verb achh- is mostly used in the sense of “to be present” (or existing), for example in sentences involving location (is father at home? baba ki baRi achhen?), but not in subject complement constructions, like when you describe how someone or something is.

  4. I think other languages often use the imperfect ( e.g. I was joking) less so I was going for a completed action tense when I said করাচ্ছিলাম. What tense is it that I used? I am hazy on my past tenses when I speak. As for আচ্ছো it sounded right with it rather than my having a grammatical reason – I will wait for Supriyo kaka or another native speaker to say if it is necessary or at least ok to use it here! কি can be used for any question? And it should be এটা that’s what I meant anyway – thanks Tova! Also thanks Daisy will amend some spellings!

  5. With korachilam/করাছিলাম (and I use the English to make the pronunciation clear) that is just a mistake. It iis neither simple past (korchilam/করছিলাম) nor past perfect, which would be korechilam/ করেছিলাম (both of which would be fine as far as I know).
    I don’t know if you are taking your past forms from Supriyodas’ site, but if you do, be aware that his his transliteration program assigns an automatic ‘o’ to the implicit অ in every consonant, whether pronounced or not.

Leave a comment