Bouma – or why I am learning Bengali

Friends sometimes ask me, disinterestedly, why I am learning Bengali.  ‘Well,’ I tend to shrug trying to make it all sound very practical, ‘We struggle out there, you know.’

The truth, whilst it starts with struggle and frustration is far more complex.

My mother-in-law did not teach my husband Bengali and has not, despite repeated requests in the early days, spoken Bengali to any of her grandchildren. We love India despite being born in Britain and feel it is our spiritual home. If our children spoke Bengali, then it would feel as if there were the possibility of communicating in Bengali in future through them.  But that – despite the purchase of bilingual books early on and frequent exhortation – is clearly not going to happen anytime soon.

I made a couple of half-hearted attempts in the past out of peek to learn the language so I could teach my children but I realised that this was not going to work.

It was a sudden surge of determination that finally resolved in me to develop the practical knowledge myself to function there as the family who we rely on move away to other parts of India and abroad.

And I made my angry start with cold and unflinching determination. But I had no inkling at that moment that I was in fact embarking upon what would turn out to be a love affair with a language, that was at once familiar and yet foreign, intimate and yet estranging.

Strange. But maybe not.

In 1945, 180 miles from Kolkata, my mother was born in Jamshedpur in Bihar in what was then British India. But at the age of 12 she left the country for England, never to return and she went on to marry an Englishman. Her maiden name was Portuguese and her family hail from Goa.

My husband is Bengali but how Indian (even) am I? (Let alone) how Bengali?

One day as I sat working through the complex web of kinship terms and asking my mother-in-law what you call your husband’s sister’s daughter and the like, I came across the word ‘bouma’. ‘Bouma’, I exclaimed. ‘What a funny word.’

‘That’s what they called you!’ my mother-in-law uttered, amused.’They always said that when you went to the market’.

‘Me?’

‘Yes, they always called you bouma’.

‘How can I exist within this web of Bengali kinship terms? ‘ was my first thought. ‘Bouma can mean younger brother’s wife or son’s wife’, was my second. Then the final realisation: ‘Ah, when I am with my 100% Bengali mother-in-law, then, of course I am Bouma’.

So, I may not be Bengali, but I am Bouma.

2 Comments

  1. OMG!!! That was so interesting!! I don’t understand your mother in law’s apathy towards Bengali? Did she too move to UK long back? How about your mother? Did she know a little Bengali ? There is a large bengali population(maybe a third of the total) in Jharkhand. Incidentally my hometown is Bokaro, not very far from Jamshedpur! BTW, the distance between Kolkata and Jamshedpur is around 300 km!

    But I agree it’s really difficult to pickup decent reading and writing skills in a language that your family doesn’t use/if the language is not taught at school; even if your parents are native speakers (unless the parents are very determined to pass on the knowledge) I, myself had to move from Bengali medium school to a Hindi one and then to an English one…But the first 4 years of education being in Bengali, I could manage to read a decent amount of literature to appreciate the language; though not as much as Hindi, especially if it’s about writing something creative/expressive. And my brothers who couldn’t get to study Bengali were barely literates in the language (I am sure they have probably forgotten it all now :))!

    Liked the line: “at once familiar and yet foreign, intimate and yet estranging” and found it a bit strange too!

    Learning the language is the most effective way to understand any culture, as I am experiencing now with the French! Good luck with your efforts…I can see that your font display problems are gone!

  2. Hi there

    Apparently there was a theory in the 60s that bilingualism was not possible OR at least this is what my parents-in-law thought!! Now I believe experts say that children can learn up to 9 languages at once without any of the languages suffering? Again this is what people have told me in passing…may not be correct…

    What we’ve noticed is interesting is that some Bengalis we know born here in the UK are teaching their children Bengali (maybe because they feel secure being British). Yet some people we know who have immigrated more recently are deliberately only speaking English to their children. I think it has to do with feeling foreign and wanting your children to fit in and not be ostracised.

    My mother-in-law attended Bengali medium schools etc and so she doesn’t speak “Indian English”(she learned English here) nor Hindi (she can understand Hindi films etc) so I guess she didn’t experience being bilingual at a young age as younger Indians may do today.

    I’m happy with my reading progress, speaking more of a problem! Need to get some practice on verbs.

Leave a comment