Encouraged

4 March 2011

I feel better. The house is coming under control and I have slowly regained my confidence.

On Thursday I read quietly as I listen to my (mother-in-law’s) recordings of some dual language books: George’s Garden, Dear Zoo, Farmer Duck, Bini in Trouble, We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, Floppy’s Friends and Handa’s Suprise. Sometimes I pause the recording and repeat a word of phrase. Gently I return to a mode where I may study.

On Friday I return to Unit 17 of Teach Yourself Bengali and complete Exercise 1 which I had started before half term.

I reflect on why I had really become disheartened in my language learning having initially presumed this was due to overheard critical comments which may have been misunderstood in any case.

I had been trying to learn too intensively and not giving myself enough space.

I believe language learning is all about getting a feel for the language to guide you as you work through grammar and build up vocabulary.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Where are those — recordings? | My Bangla Diary আমার বাংলা ডাইরি

Leave a comment